top of page
  • Writer's pictureKelly Grayson

Understanding the Heart Chakra

The word “chakra” translates to wheel or disk in Sanskrit. It refers to wheels of energy throughout the body. A chakra is a center of organization that receives, assimilates and expresses life force energy. Each chakra operates at a unique, optimum frequency which determines its color and other characteristics. Each chakra works in harmony with the others to bring you to a complete sense of well-being.

There are seven main chakras which start from the coccyx to the crown of the head. If any of the chakras are blocked then energy cannot flow freely which can lead to emotional and physical ailments. When there is a dysfunction or blockage in one part of the system it has an impact on all of the other chakras. A dysfunctional chakra can either be too open or sluggish because of some emotionally based blockage which typically stems from childhood.

It is vital to clear and open these chakras to allow our body to function as it was designed. Your chakras can be blocked by stress, negative thoughts, beliefs, emotions, diet and lack of exercise. You have the ability to unblock your chakras by implementing meaningful change in your life. This will drastically improve your emotional and physical well-being.

The seven chakras are the Root, Sacral, Solar Plexus, Heart, Throat, Third Eye and the Crown.

It’s important to understand what each chakra represents and how to keep this energy flowing.

Green Heart Chakra symbol
Heart Chakra is green

4th Chakra             Heart Chakra

Sanskrit name: Anahata Meaning: Unstruck

Location: Center of chest

Color: Green/pink

Sense: Touch

Gland: Thymus

Motto: I love

Mantra: YAM

Element: Air

Musical note: F

Ruling Planet: Venus

Developmental Stage: 4 to 7 years

Life Lesson: Forgiveness & Compassion

Represents: Our ability to love

What affects it: Love, joy, inner peace and anger

Organs affected: Breast, hands, heart, blood, circulatory system, thymus gland, diaphragm, shoulders and arms, lower lungs, rib cage, skin, upper back

Associated problems: Anorexia, asthma, bronchitis, hearing problems, tinnitus, problems of the upper digestive tract; mouth ulcers, sore throats, tonsillitis

These are the effects on the body from an unbalanced Chakra:

Overly dramatic






Lack of empathy


Poor boundaries


Lack of forgiveness



Withholds emotionally

These are the effects on the body from an balanced Chakra:






Desire spiritual experience



Good immune system

These are the emotional ailments on the body:

Love and hatred



Grief and anger

Self centeredness

Lack of commitment

These are the physical ailments on the body:

Congestive heart failure

Heart attack


Lung ailments



Upper back

Breast cancer

Shortness of breath

Sunken chest

Immune system dysfunction

Circulation problems


Healing Exercises: Opening up our hearts to others is the best healing exercise.

Healing Foods: Avocado, beans, broccoli, cucumber green peppers, lettuce, okra, olives, pears, spinach, zucchini

Healing Crystals: Watermelon, Tourmaline, Rose Quartz, Emerald, Jade, Kunzite

Healing Fragrances, Incense/oils: Rose, Bergamot, Melissa, Marjoram

Healing Affirmations:

I am an open channel for divine love.

I put my heart into everything I do.

I love opening my heart and sharing it with others.

I send love to everyone I know, all hearts are open to receive my love.

I accept that pain is an essential part of my growth and development.

I love myself for who I am and the potential within me.

All past hurt I release into the hands of love.

I am grateful for all the love that is in my life.

Other people deserve my compassion.

The love I feel for myself and others is unconditional.

Love will set me free.  Others love the best they can. If someone doesn’t love me “enough”, they may be limited in their expression of love and deserve my compassion.

Reiki, Energy Healing and Chakra/Aura Clearing can assist with this.

#pyramidwellness #reiki #chakra #chakras #heart #heartchakra #energyhealing #reikihealing #energy

#greenchakra #aura #green #auras #wellness #wellbeing #balance

3 views0 comments