top of page
  • Writer's pictureKelly Grayson

Understanding the Root Chakra

The word “chakra” translates to wheel or disk in Sanskrit. It refers to wheels of energy throughout the body. A chakra is a center of organization that receives, assimilates and expresses life force energy. Each chakra operates at a unique, optimum frequency which determines its color and other characteristics. Each chakra works in harmony with the others to bring you to a complete sense of well-being.

There are seven main chakras which start from the coccyx to the crown of the head. If any of the chakras are blocked then energy cannot flow freely which can lead to emotional and physical ailments. When there is a dysfunction or blockage in one part of the system it has an impact on all of the other chakras. A dysfunctional chakra can either be too open or sluggish because of some emotionally based blockage which typically stems from childhood.

It is vital to clear and open these chakras to allow our body to function as it was designed. Your chakras can be blocked by stress, negative thoughts, beliefs, emotions, diet and lack of exercise. You have the ability to unblock your chakras by implementing meaningful change in your life. This will drastically improve your emotional and physical well-being.

The seven chakras are the Root, Sacral, Solar Plexus, Heart, Throat, Third Eye and the Crown.

It’s important to understand what each chakra represents and how to keep this energy flowing.

Root Chakra is the color Red

1st Chakra        Root Chakra

Sanskrit name: Muladhara Meaning: Root or support

Location: Base of spine

Color: Red

Sense: Smell

Gland: Adrenal

Motto: I have

Mantra:  LAM

Element: Earth

Musical Note: C

Ruling Planet: Saturn

Developmental stage: 2nd trimester to 12 months

Life Lesson: Standing up for oneself

Represents: Survival of fight or flight

What affects it: Survival issues, such as money and food

Organs affected: Bones, feet, rectum, immune system, nails, colon, blood, prostate gland, kidneys and bladder, the vertebral column, hips and legs

Associated problems: constipation, diarrhea, colitis, Crohn's disease, cold fingers and toes, the frequency of urination, hypertension (high blood pressure), kidney stones, impotence, hip problems

These are the effects on the body from an unbalanced Chakra:

Disconnection from body

Underweight or obese



You can’t settle down

Poor focus and discipline

Poor boundaries

Chronic disorganization

Financial difficulty


Material fixation


Sluggish, lazy, tired

Low self-esteem


Self-destructive behavior

Instability, ungrounded

These are the effects on the body from a balanced Chakra:

Comfortable in body



The feeling of safety and security



Acceptance of others


Able to relax

Grounded, stable

High physical energy

Demonstrate self-mastery

These are the emotional ailments on the body:

Mental lethargy


Emotionally needy

Incapable of inner stillness

Inability to provide for life’s necessities

Inability to stand up for self

Panic attacks

These are the physical ailments on the body:

Frequent illness

Issues with legs, knees, feet, the base of the spine


Disorders of the bowel, anus, large intestine

Disorders of the teeth, bones

Eating disorders


Poor circulation

Poor metabolism

Issues with Arthritis


Healing Exercises: The Root Chakra is all about feeling grounded. Walking barefoot in the grass, ocean, dirt is a great way to be grounded.     

Healing Foods: Beets, cherries, red cabbage, red currants, red peppers, plums, strawberries, tomatoes, watermelon, watercress

Healing Crystals: Bloodstone, Tiger’s eye, Hematite, Smoky Quartz, Moss Agate, Garnet, Tourmaline, Red Jasper and Obsidian

Healing Fragrances, incense/oils: Cedarwood, Myrrh, Patchouli, Frankincense, Oakmoss, Benzoin, Spikenard, Vetiver                 

Healing Affirmations:

My body is becoming more important to me. I nurture it constantly.

I am taking responsibility for my life. I can cope with any situation.

I recognize the abundance of love, trust, care surrounding me.

I deserve the best that life has to offer.

My needs are always met.

I am stable, safe and secure.

I have unshakable trust. It sustains me.

I am rooted in life, and in myself.

Reiki, Energy Healing and Chakra/Aura Clearing can assist with this.

#pyramidwellness #rootchakra #root #chakra #reiki #energyhealing #energy #chakras #redchakra

#chakras #aura #reikihealing #red #auras #wellness #wellbeing #balance #body