top of page
  • Writer's pictureKelly Grayson

Understanding the Sacral Chakra

The word “chakra” translates to wheel or disk in Sanskrit. It refers to wheels of energy throughout the body. A chakra is a center of organization that receives, assimilates and expresses life force energy. Each chakra operates at a unique, optimum frequency which determines its color and other characteristics. Each chakra works in harmony with the others to bring you to a complete sense of well-being.

There are seven main chakras which start from the coccyx to the crown of the head. If any of the chakras are blocked then energy cannot flow freely which can lead to emotional and physical ailments. When there is a dysfunction or blockage in one part of the system it has an impact on all of the other chakras. A dysfunctional chakra can either be too open or sluggish because of some emotionally based blockage which typically stems from childhood.

It is vital to clear and open these chakras to allow our body to function as it was designed. Your chakras can be blocked by stress, negative thoughts, beliefs, emotions, diet and lack of exercise. You have the ability to unblock your chakras by implementing meaningful change in your life. This will drastically improve your emotional and physical well-being.

The seven chakras are the Root, Sacral, Solar Plexus, Heart, Throat, Third Eye and the Crown.

It’s important to understand what each chakra represents and how to keep this energy flowing.

Sacral Chakra is Orange

2nd Chakra        Sacral Chakra

Sanskrit name: Svadhisthana Meaning: Sweetness

Location: lower abdomen to navel area

Color: Orange

Sense: Taste

Gland: Reproductive organs

Motto: I feel

Mantra: VAM

Element: Water

Musical note: D

Ruling Planet: Pluto

Development Stage: 6 months to 2 years

Life Lesson: Challenging motivations based on social conditioning

Represents: Our emotional balance and sexualtiy

What affects it: movement, desires, sexuality, need, pleasure

Organs affected: uterus, large intestine, prostate, ovaries and testes, hip area, appendix, bladder, pelvis, lower vertebrae, kidneys and fluid functions

Associated problems: premenstrual syndrome, problems with menstrual flow, uterine fibroids, ovarian cysts, irritable bowel syndrome, endometriosis, testicular disease and prostate disease

These are the effects on the body from an unbalanced Chakra:

Rigidity in body and attitude

Frigid or impotent

Poor social skills

Denial of pleasure

Excessive boundaries

Lack of desire, passion and excitement

Sexual acting out

Sexual addiction

Excessive strong emotions

Ruled by emotions

Over sensitive

Poor boundaries

Obsessive attachment

Emotional dependency

Hard on one’s self

These are the effects on the body from a balanced Chakra:

Emotional intelligence

Ability to change

Healthy boundaries




Attuned to his/her own feelings

Graceful movement

Ability to express pleasure

These are the emotional ailments on the body:



Emotionally unbalanced

Feelings of isolation

Feel guilty for no reason

These are the physical ailments on the body:

Chronic lower back pain


Ob/gyn problems

Sexual dysfunction

Urinary problems

Knee trouble

Lack of flexibility

Deaden senses

Loss of appetite, sex and life

Bladder problems

Physical exhaustion

Healing Exercises: Yoga, mediation, create something new, have a salt bath

Healing Foods: Apricots, carrots, mangoes, oranges, peaches, persimmons, pumpkins, tangerines

Healing Crystals: Citrine, Carnelian, Golden Topaz, Orange Calcite, Moonstone

Healing Fragrances, Incense/oils: Jasmine, Rose, Sandalwood

Healing Affirmations:

I am moving toward a time when I am totally happy and fulfilled.

Life offers me everything I need for that journey.

I am worthy of love and sexual pleasure.

I have a right to express my desires to myself and others.

Who I am is good enough.

Life is unfolding as it should.

I am prepared to honor my body and feel good about my sexuality.

I feel my creativity streaming through my body, soul and mind.

My creative/sexual energy has the power to create and transform.

I open myself to others naturally.

Reiki, Energy Healing and Chakra/Aura Clearing can assist with this.

#pyramidwellness #reiki #sacralchakra #chakra #sacral #energyhealing #energy #chakrahealing #chakras

#reikihealing #aura #orange #orangechakra #auras #wellness #wellbeing #balance

5 views0 comments