top of page
  • Writer's pictureKelly Grayson

Understanding the Solar Plexus Chakra

The word “chakra” translates to wheel or disk in Sanskrit. It refers to wheels of energy throughout the body. A chakra is a center of organization that receives, assimilates and expresses life force energy. Each chakra operates at a unique, optimum frequency which determines its color and other characteristics. Each chakra works in harmony with the others to bring you to a complete sense of well-being.

There are seven main chakras which start from the coccyx to the crown of the head. If any of the chakras are blocked then energy cannot flow freely which can lead to emotional and physical ailments. When there is a dysfunction or blockage in one part of the system it has an impact on all of the other chakras. A dysfunctional chakra can either be too open or sluggish because of some emotionally based blockage which typically stems from childhood.

It is vital to clear and open these chakras to allow our body to function as it was designed. Your chakras can be blocked by stress, negative thoughts, beliefs, emotions, diet and lack of exercise. You have the ability to unblock your chakras by implementing meaningful change in your life. This will drastically improve your emotional and physical well-being.

The seven chakras are the Root, Sacral, Solar Plexus, Heart, Throat, Third Eye and the Crown.

It’s important to understand what each chakra represents and how to keep this energy flowing.

Solar Plexus Chakra color is Yellow
Solar Plexus Chakra

3rd Chakra   Solar Plexus Chakra

Sanskrit name: Manipura Meaning: Lustrous gem

Location: Between navel & base of sternum

Color: Yellow

Sense: Sight

Gland: Pancreas

Mott: I can

Mantra: RAM

Element: Fire

Musical note: E

Ruling Planet: Mars & Sun

Developmental Stage: 2 years to 4 years

Life Lesson: Self-esteem/self-confidence

Represents: Our ability to be confident and in-control of our lives

What affects it: Self-worth, self-confidence, self-esteem, low immunity and weakness in core muscles

Organs affected: nervous system, liver, upper intestine, digestive system, kidney, pancreas, adrenals glands, middle of the spine, stomach, abdomen, gallbladder, spleen

Associated problems: diabetes, pancreatitis, liver disease, peptic ulcer, Celica’s disease, and gallstones

These are the effects on the body from an unbalanced Chakra:


Low energy

Poor discipline and follow through

Poor digestion

Low self-esteem

Attraction of stimulates

Victim mentality

Blaming of others






Overly aggressive


Need for the last word


Temper tantrums

Needs constant reassurance

These are the effects on the body from a balanced Chakra:




Good self-esteem

Sense of humor


Able to meet challenges

Warmth in personality

Respects self and others



These are the emotional ailments on the body:


Sensitivity to criticism

Care of oneself and others

Low self-esteem

Low self-confidence

Low self-respect

These are the physical ailments on the body:



Intestinal problems



Digestion disorder

Anorexia or Bulimia

Liver dysfunction

Adrenal dysfunction

Muscles disorders

Chronic fatigue


Healing Exercises: Yoga, meditation, play and have fun, laugh, journal

Healing Foods: Bananas, corn, eggs, grapefruit, lemons, parsnips, pineapple, yams, yellow peppers

Healing Crystals: Aventurine quartz, Sunstone, Yellow citrine, Calcite, Malachite, Amber, Shungite

Healing Fragrances, Incense/oils: Vetivert, Ylang Ylang, Bergamot, Mandarin, Ginger, Juniper

Healing Affirmations:

I accept and value myself exactly as I am.

I appreciate my strengths.

I know I am becoming the best person I can be.

My personal power is becoming stronger each day.

I deserve all the love, respect, joy and prosperity that comes to me.

I seek opportunities for personal and spiritual growth.

I am open to receiving all life's good things.

I accept myself completely.

I am full of radiant light and energy.

My personal power is growing stronger every day.

Reiki, Energy Healing and Chakra/Aura Clearing can assist with this.

#pyramidwellness #chakra #chakras #reiki #energyhealing #aura #solarplexus #yellow

#solarplexuschakra #reikihealing #energy #yellowchakra #auras #wellness #wellbeing #balance